Fresh Salsa

 

IMG_0848.JPG

I love cooking with fresh ingredients. It is so empowering to be cooking with ingredients that you grew in your gardens rather than ingredients that came out of a can. In the summer I keep a garden with a lot of vegetables and herbs. This year I hope to expand to more fruits as well. One of my favorite things that I grow is cilantro, I love the flavor that cilantro brings into dishes. Two years ago I started making salsa, using my fresh cilantro in it and now I am obsessed with the fresh flavors of salsa.

IMG_0843.JPG

The best thing about salsa is you can throw in whatever you want really. If you want it spicey you cant add Jalapeño peppers, Serrano peppers, or chili peppers. There are so many different types of salsa and so many different ingredients you can use. My recipe is very simple, because I started by only using the ingredients that grew in my garden, and it stuck.

IMG_0844.JPG

This recipe can be used alone or as a base for you to expierement and added different flavors to. It calls for only a few simple ingredients. Below I’ve also added other things you can add into this recipe to spice things up a little bit.

IMG_0845

Ingredients:

5 tomatoes, diced*

1/2 cup of white onion, chopped*

9 sweet peppers, chopped*

1 minced garlic clove*

1/3 cup of cilantro, chopped

lime juice, cumin, and salt to taste

*Depends on amount of other ingredients

Directions:

1. Chop tomatoes, onion and sweet peppers and add to bowl

2. Add garlic and cilantro

3. Season with lime juice, salt and cumin

 

Add in ingredients:

Spicy:

 

Sweet:

 

Tangy:

 

Leave a Reply

